top of page
  • Writer's pictureColette Weston

the committee in our heads

Updated: Mar 21, 2021

I don’t know about you but I lived with a committee in my head and this committee was not my friend. It never has been and never will be!


It will try and tell me all kinds of horrible, negative stuff about myself and others. It will bombard me with tortuous shaming negative crapola. I try to never listen to it or especially reason with it. It always lies.


The committee gets its power from all the negative things that I have ever heard in my life about myself, or others, and the enemy uses it to try to torture me. 


I know now I must stop these lies in their tracks and change my self-talk immediately. I am okay right this minute and me and the Lord can do this together one second at a time.


I can be successful! I can love with His love. I can be all He wants me to be, one second at a time with His power.


Me and God can do this together! I am okay right now, because He is making me okay, one second at a time. RIGHT THIS SECOND I AM OKAY!


Whatever it takes I need to turn my direction from the negative pathway and choose the life path. Then I need to change my self talk.


I do not let that committee define me anymore. I let it for so much of my life but I choose not to go there anymore.


When people would tell me to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ or when I would read that in the bible I would get so frustrated and shamed. It was too big for me and it seemed like a giant monster.


But, I learned that I can do it one at a time, one second at a time, one lie at a time and then it was much more manageable.


I just started to say “No” one second at a time. I don’t wrestle with the thought that the committee might be right. No, I don’t give that lie any place in my head anymore. I just put the thought in Jesus hands and let go! I change direction in my head.


No matter what I have done or not done! No matter what, I need to change directions in the thought pathway and take the different road to the life road.


The lies will never help me to do better. Never!


I stop the crazy, shaming that tries to take over my head and I give it to Jesus! He will help me to make it when I choose to give it to Him and change thought directions. Me and the Lord can do this together one second at a time. After we get ourselves on firm ground we can tell ourselves the positive-opposite and push through it, holding His hands one second at a time. I was the queen of living in the negative obsessive committee in my head and beating myself up for it mercilessly. That is not what God wanted for me. I know that now.


He wants better than that for all of us! My life got so much better when I quit reasoning with the committee in my head.


Don’t waste anymore of your life reasoning with lies and distortions. Asking why, what-if and shoulds will take you down the death path!


Don’t question if what is going on in your head might be right. It is never profitable or helpful. It is only going to be negative. Our heads are not our friends. Be free!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page